First thought would be to take a selfie. Since I did just get my hair cut this week, that would likely be okay, even if it has now been washed and self done and will not look good again for another 4 weeks.
I love my hair stylist. My time with her is so relaxing. We chat and she does this massage thing with my head that some call "washing" but I think is actually a manipulation of all my stress relieving buttons. Somewhere between the initial wetting and the final draping of the towel to catch the remaining drops, my entire body just shifts out of it's normal hyper-drive and into a kind of euphoria.
More than love though, I trust my hair stylist. This is something that is hard for me to give. I've been burned so many times. Plus there was the trouble that, for so many years I could not afford the cost of a GOOD hair stylist. So I would go as long as I possibly could before venturing out to a quickie cut place, praying all the while that the woman that was there last time that had done a half-way decent job would still be there. Didn't always work out. *sigh* But hair is one of those tricky things and a bad haircut once can make you scissor-shy, twice can make you scissor-twitchy, and well ... then there was me ... equating going to get my hair cut with going to the dentist for a root canal.
Then I had a girlie who wanted an intricate braid for a formal she was attending and her mom found J. I was on duty for hair and general pre-formal "beautifying" that day and we were making an outing of it ... hair, nails, lunch, etc. As I sat there watching J. perform this beautiful braiding miracle and chatting with her, I felt myself thinking ... "could this work??" We talked about her rates and, while a bit more than my normal quickie cut, they were definitely more budget worthy than some "nicer" salons I had recently tried.
So, I made an appointment. Over two years later and I am still as happy as when I left that first time and reveled in the cut and the compliments that followed, something that never happened previously. It is a wonderful feeling to know that not only can she relax me but that I can then trust that my hair will be cut in a style that works for me, is able to be managed quick and easy by me, and doesn't bust my single woman budget every 4 to 6 weeks.
The only downside being that it looks so awesome when I leave her and for the two days afterward ... but then I must wash it and do it myself and it ... well ... it looks okay but definitely not awesome.
And so it is that we circle back to the reason for this post, this photo challenge of "hair". A selfie would be fine if it was just cut and styled by J. but it isn't. I washed and did it myself this morning. Perhaps if I had taken the photo first thing this morning, that would have worked. Yet I didn't. I waited until now ... after a beautiful day of being outside, driving the countryside with my little angelpup co-pilot, with the windows down and the sunroof open. Let's just say my hair is not particularly photo worthy at the moment.
LOL ... I thought about taking a picture of a single strand of hair but ... well ... that seemed weird.
So here is my photo challenge picture for the word "hair":
The hair in this photo is on the head and body of my little angelpup as he lays snuggled next to me on our comfy couch after a long day of being outside. Some would say that a dog's hair isn't really "hair" but in the case of the Maltese (which is angelpup's breed) that isn't true. One of the reason's I chose to get a Maltese pupper is because they don't have fur or the pet dander that comes with fur, but actual hair. Tis silky hair without an undercoat which means we are careful about him outside as he can actually get sunburn. Another reason I chose my little Maltese is the fact that since they have hair and not fur, they also do not shed like other dogs. I love puppers but I'm not a big fan of the shedding on clothing and furniture. He does neither. Unless I am in a less than brilliant frame of mind and decide to brush/comb him while wearing all black. *sigh* Which is usually most of the time. Just as a human sheds hair into their hairbrush with a good brushing, so does the Maltese breed ... so does my little white-haired angelpup.
Hair ... just not human hair. ;)

No comments:
Post a Comment